Warriors: Draymond Green’s Flagrant 2 points to bigger issues in NBA
I think the perfect phrase for this decision is, disappointed but not surprised for Warriors‘ four-time All-Star forward Draymond Green.
The NBA only occasionally admits to its referring mistakes, and yesterday was a prime example of this. Draymond Green received one of the worst flagrant 2 foul calls I have personally ever seen. Not to mention, it was a playoff game!
The Golden State Warriors somehow won Game 1 despite Draymond Green’s second-quarter ejection, but the aftermath may be worst than the initial call.
The words used to describe this flagrant 2 were “thrown to the ground,” when to me, it is obvious Draymond was trying to help keep him up.
Was it a hard foul? No question. Since it was Green, this call was all about reputation, and it almost seemed like Kane Fitzgerald couldn’t wait to make this call and impact the game. Thankfully, the Warriors still won 117-116.
Flagrant Points
You might be saying to yourself, “well the Warriors won the game, so who cares about a flagrant foul?”
Well, in the playoffs, it is a different story. If a player reaches 4 flagrant points, they are automatically suspended one game. Sound familiar? Draymond missed Game 5 in the 2016 Finals for a very similar rule.
So, the league not correcting this mistake is actually a major decision and could impact more playoff games. Surely the NBA would see this was a mistake and a flagrant 1. Unfortunately, they did not.
Sticking with the flagrant 2 call means if Draymond gets 2 more flagrant points he is suspended. After that, any flagrant foul means suspension for the next game. Get ready, Warriors fans, for nonstop flopping against Draymond Green for the rest of the playoffs.